Top 12 Books Like Where The Crawdads Sing To Read

Many people search for the books like where the Crawdads Sing to read. The novel is a perfect blend of romance, murder mystery, and survival story. It was written by Delia Owens in 2018. This fiction book became very famous in a short duration of time and came in the bestsellers of 2019. In this article, I have mentioned other books like where the crawdads sing that you can consider reading. I can assure you that you will love all these fascinating books like where the Crawdads sing.

List Of Top 12 Books Like Where The Crawdads Sing To Read

First, let us have a glance at the names of all the books like where the Crawdads sing to read. These books like where the Crawdads sing  are so interes\ting that they’ll keep you hooked till the end.

  • My Absolute Darling by Gabriel Tallent 
  • Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate 
  • Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman
  • The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey
  • The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah
  • Convenience Store Woman by Sayaka Murata 
  • The Prince of Tides by Pat Conroy 
  • Tell The Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt
  • A Girl of the Limberlost by Gene Stratton Porter
  • Swimming Lessons by Claire Fuller  
  • The Dry by Jane Harper 
  • Swamplandia! by Karen Russell

Top 12 Books Like Where The Crawdads Sing

Next, I will give you a brief account of these books like where the Crawdads sing for your information. This will help you to know which book will suit you the most.

  • My Absolute Darling by Gabriel Tallent 

My Absolute Darling is one of the thrilling books like where the Crawdads sing as it has a similar murder theme. The story revolves around Turtle who’s 14 years old living with her sociopath father. As the novel progresses you will get to know about the extent of sexual and physical abuse Turtle goes through. She develops a strange love and hates relationship with her father Martin. Soon after her father strangely disappears for several months. 

When afterward he comes back he brings a girl named Cayenne of age nine. One night, Turtle refuses the sexual abuse and sees that her father went to Cayenne. She can’t let the same happen to her. What will she do to protect her? You must read this spine-chilling novel to know the conclusion of the story.

  • Author: Gabriel Tallent
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Novel
  • Publisher: Riverhead Books 
  • Release Date: 2017
  • Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate 

Before we were yours is among the amazing books like where the Crawdads sing as it is full of twists and turns. The plot centers on a 12-year-old girl named Rill Foss along with her four younger siblings who get trapped in a kidnapping scandal. The problems and the drawbacks which they face are shocking and unbelievable. 

You will also see the unconditional love of these siblings for each other. The struggle of Rill foss to keep her brother and sisters together is worth reading and will bring tears to your eyes. As the novel progresses you will see how their lives changed for the better. I encourage you to read one of this  books like where the crawdads sing for inspiration and motivation.

  • Author: Lisa Wingate 
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Historical Fiction, Domestic Fiction
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books
  • Release Date: 6 June 2017
  • Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine is included in incredible books like where the Crawdads sing because of its similar theme and story background. The story goes around Eleanor Oliphant who’s a 29-year-old lady. She lives in complete isolation and experiences loneliness in her life. She is very intelligent and has a very basic lifestyle. She has the same haircut for the last sixteen years and always has the same meal every day.

 An interesting twist comes into her life when she falls in love with a handsome singer from a local band. She believes him to be the one and goes on the quest of getting his love. As the narrative moves, you will uncover the reasons why she is the way she is. I am sure you will love the calm pace of this novel so you must read it.

  • Author: Gail Honeyman
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: HarperCollins, Pamela Dorman Books
  • Release Date: 2017
  • The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey is counted under the books like where the Crawdads sing. The novel centers on a couple of Jack and Mabel who live in a freezing town in Alaska. Jack worked hard on their farms whereas Mabel felt alone. They didn’t have a kid and always wished of having one. So, one day they were having fun and made a snow child outside their house. 

The next day, they saw that instead of the Snow child there was a young girl named Faina standing over there. She wasn’t alone but had a red fox standing next to her. She seemed to be a girl from Jungle. But the couple started caring for her as if she was their daughter. As the novel goes ahead you will get to know what she really is and this will change everyone’s life. This is the best book to read after where the crawdads sing for thrill and excitement.

 

  • Author: Eowyn Ivey
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Reagan Arthur/Little, Brown
  • Release Date: 1 February 2012
  • The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah

The Great Alone is placed in awesome books like where the Crawdads sing for its spellbinding plot. The novel revolves around Ernt Allbright who has returned from the Vietnam war and struggles to adapt to normal life. He is not able to keep up with his job and so decides to move to Alaska with his daughter and wife. 

You will further read that how this impulsive decision changes their lives. At first, they like this new start in Alaska but when the frosty winter arrives and they have to stay in 18 hours of darkness. Everything seems difficult. Will they be able to survive? To know that you must read this engrossing and emotionally absorbing book like where the crawdads sing. 

  • Author: Kristin Hannah
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Novel, Historical Fiction, Domestic Fiction
  • Publisher: St. Martin’s Press; Illustrated edition
  • Release Date: 2017
  • Convenience Store Woman by Sayaka Murata 

Convenience Store Woman is one of the best books like where the Crawdads sing. The plot centers on a 36-year-old woman named Keiko Furukura. She finds her life very comfortable and good at the convenience store, Konbini. She does not conform to the rules of society and is still single. Later she comes across a jobless man named Shiraha. They both decide to move in together to display to society that they are married and have a romantic relationship.

 But this isn’t the truth and to keep up with it Keiko has to leave her job of Konibi. One day when she is walking with Shiraha for his interview she saw the konibi as misarranged. She rushed back to the store and start arranging it. Will she join her job again? I will leave you at this interesting twist so that you go and read this book as soon as possible.

  • Author: Sayaka Murata 
  • Language: Japanese 
  • Genre: Literary Fiction
  • Publisher: Bungeushunju
  • Release Date: 27 July 2016
  • The Prince of Tides by Pat Conroy 

The Prince of Tides is among the similar books like where the Crawdads sing. The plot is based on the mental health of the sister Savannah of the lead Tom Wingo. His life is affected by the traumatic events and he lost his job as a football coach. Tom Wingo now has only one purpose of saving his sister from her distressing psychological condition. He takes her to the psychiatrist Dr. Susan. She treats Savannah with all her attention. 

As the novel progresses you will see that a brimming love story takes place between Tom and Dr. Susan. But afterward, Susan reveals some deep dark secrets of the past of their family. What changes will it bring in their lives? You must read this one of the books like where the crawdads sing to know the entire truth of the situation. 

  • Author: Pat Conroy
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Novel, Domestic Fiction
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin 
  • Release Date: 1986
  • Tell The Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt

Tell the Wolves I’m home is included in the fiction books like where the crawdads sing. The novel centers 14 years old, June Elbus who’s very close to her Uncle Finn. He was like her best friend and godfather. But unfortunately, Uncle Finn dies mysteriously due to some ailment. June finds herself broken without her uncle. 

After some days she happens to receive a mail-in in which she gets a teapot and it has a note from a stranger asking for an opportunity to meet. When she meets this man she recalls that she saw him at his Uncle’s funeral. Slowly and steadily she starts building a strong bond with this guy. You must read this novel because I am sure this slow-paced love story will win your heart.

  • Author: Carol Rifka Brunt
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Fiction, Romance
  • Publisher: Random House 
  • Release Date: 1 June 2012
  • A Girl of the Limberlost by Gene Stratton Porter

A girl of the Limberlost is in the alternative books like where the crawdads sing. The plot is set in the Limberlost Swamp in Indiana. The main character of the story is Elnora Comstock. Well, her life is not like any other ordinary girl. She lacks love and compassion in her life as her mother doesn’t love her and blames her for the death of his Husband. She wants to find her happiness and a good way of living. 

Elnora is on a journey of finding romantic love and joy. Her life starts to change when she first goes to high school but will she find someone to fill that space of a romantic partner in her life. This is book is put in the category of where the crawdads sing like books and you must read it once.

  • Author: Gene Stratton Porter 
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Novel, Fiction
  • Publisher: Empire Books 
  • Release Date: 23 December 2011 
  • Swimming Lessons by Claire Fuller  

Swimming lessons are counted under the engaging books where the crawdads sing as it is full of mystery. The plot centers on Ingrid Coleman who writes letters to her husband Gil about the truth of their marriage. On writing upon her last letter she strangely disappears from the Dorset beach. She didn’t give those letters to him instead hid them in his books. 

Twenty years later Gil thought as if he saw Ingrid from the window of a shop. Did he really saw her and was it his imagination. Flora and Nan were their two daughters and Flora never believed that her mother was drowned. She still wants to know the truth of her Mom’s mysterious disappearance. To know if she ever finds those letters you must read this enticing book. 

  • Author: Claire Fuller
  • Language: English 
  • Genre: Novel, Mystery, Domestic Fiction
  • Publisher: Tin House Books
  • Release Date: 7 February 2017
  • The Dry by Jane Harper 

The dry by Jane Harper is among more books like where the crawdads sing. The main lead of the story is a Federal agent named Aaron Falk who left his hometown with his father twenty years back. He was accused of murder and his friend Luke helped him by saying that he was with him.

 After so many years Falk came to the funeral of Luke. The people of the town already suspected that they didn’t speak the truth. But what might be the reason for Luke’s death? Falk doubts that his death isn’t normal and there are some deep dark secrets that he needs to find out. To know the genuine answers you must read this book like where the crawdads sing.

  • Author: Jane Harper  
  • Language:  English
  • Genre: Fiction, Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Police Procedural
  • Publisher: Flatiron Books
  • Release Date: 10 January 2017
  • Swamplandia! by Karen Russell

If you have just finished where the crawdads sing what to read next? Then, Swamplandia is the perfect choice for you due to its unexpected events. The story centers on a thirteen-year-old girl named Ava Bigtree who lived with her parents in their gator wrestling theme park.

 Suddenly Ava’s mother gets sick, and as the park was managed by her they had to face consequences.  Her father isn’t even able to help that and her sister falls in love with a weird man named Dredgeman. Even her talented brother finds this troublesome. So, Ava is on a mission to save them all through these problems. You must read this brilliant novel as it is also listed in the books similar to where the crawdads sing.

  • Author: Karen Russell 
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Bildungsroman, Magic Realism, Southern Gothic 
  • Publisher: Knopf 
  • Release Date: 1 February 2011

FAQ

What to read if you like where the crawdads sing?

I have listed below where the crawdads sing like books that you can read

 

  • My Absolute Darling by Gabriel Tallent 
  • Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate 
  • Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman
  • The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey
  • The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah
  • Convenience Store Woman by Sayaka Murata 
  • The Prince of Tides by Pat Conroy 
  • Tell The Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt
  • A Girl of the Limberlost by Gene Stratton Porter
  • Swimming Lessons by Claire Fuller  
  • The Dry by Jane Harper 
  • Swamplandia! by Karen Russell

Is there a movie based on where the crawdads sing?

Yes, there is where the crawdads sing movie produced by Hello Sunshine production company of Reese Witherspoon. The movie was released on 17 March 2020.

Does where the crawdads sing have bad language?

Yes, there is a use of bad language in where the crawdads sing but the use is according to the requirement of the scenario. In most of the part of the story, there is a use of moderate language.

 

Conclusion

If you are a bookworm and love reading then in this article I have mentioned books like where the crawdads sing. These books are very interesting and you won’t be able to leave them till the last page. I have also given a brief introduction to the plot of these books like where the crawdads sing for your information. Along with these books, I have written the name of the author so that you get an idea of what you can expect from the story. I am sure that you will be able to choose the best one among these books like where the crawdads sing to read. 

 

You May Also Like

How To Get Better At Math

Are you a student struggling with mathematics yet trying to get better at it? Sometimes, studying mathematics can be frustrating mostly because you cannot sweat yourself enough to solve the…
View Post